At the apex of the mandate informing the work of the JCPZ lies the South African Constitution which requires that all spheres of government work together to address poverty, underdevelopment, marginalisation of individuals and communities and other legacies of apartheid and discrimination.

More specifically, the mandate of JCPZ is framed by the COJ GDS 2040 and the aligned priorities for the first decade of the GDS which are then further articulated in the COJ 2013 – 2016 IDP.

In this context, the mandate of JCPZ is set out in the Shareholder Agreement and is defined as:

The provision, preservation and management of open spaces, biodiversity, environmental and conservation services through education, research, direct conservation action and recreation with a focus on the zoo, parks and cemeteries.

Based on the above mandate, the JCPZ’s vision, mission and values have then been formulated to provide overall direction and inspiration in meeting and exceeding the objectives of the mandate.


Our Board of Directors

Non-Executive Directors

  • Adv. J Mabaso (Chairperson)
  • Mr S Ngubane
  • Ms N Mogorosi
  • Mr M Makgonye
  • Ms N Sandlana
  • Mrs B Dollie
  • Mr A September
  • Mr V Leketi
  • Mr B Rajah

Executive Directors

  • Mr B Nelana (Managing Director)
  • Ms M Sedite (Chief Financial Officer)

Independent Audit Committee Members

  • Mr G Dunnington
  • Mr J Maboa
  • Mr H Moolla


Our Executive team 


Bulumko Nelana

Mr Bulumko Nelana
Managing Director

Office of the managing director: Internal Audit and
Company Secretary
011 712 6678
081 011 2618


Bukelwa Njingolo

Ms Bukelwa Njingolo
Chief Operations Officer

011 712 6768
082 803 0383

Nomsa Makhoba

Ms Nomsa Makhoba
EM Corporate Services

011 712 6819
081 018 0442

Maphefo Sedite

Ms Maphefo Sedite
Chief Financial Officer

011 712 6724
082 498 8621

Oscar van Heerden

Dr Oscar van Heerden
EM Strategic Support

011 712 6826

Busisiwe Mahlaba

Ms Busisiwe Mahlaba
EM Marketing and Business Development

011 712 6789
076 911 1582